Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

The pause before the pivot: positioning bond portfolios for an evolving policy landscape

26 June 2023

Christopher M. Chapman, CFA, Senior Portfolio Manager, Head of Global Multi-Sector Fixed Income

This sharp repricing in bond markets has had profound implications for fixed-income investors, especially for those who extended their risk budgets outside of historical ranges. Christopher M. Chapman, CFA, Senior Portfolio Manager, Head of Global Multi-Sector Fixed Income, believes now is an opportune time for investors to recalibrate their portfolio risk and their future expectations, considering both the current market environment and the next phase looming just over the horizon.

 

In the summer of 2007, as the extent of the global financial crisis was only just beginning to reveal itself, the yield on 10-year U.S. Treasuries slipped below the 5% threshold. In the sixteen years since then, 5% remains a level yet to be reached again. Quite to the contrary, yields on the 10-year hit an all-time low of just 0.52% in August 2020 and spent nearly all of that inauspicious year trading below 1%.1

Then, in the span of just 16 months, everything changed. Inflation jumped from less than 2% in the United States to 9%—a 40-year high.2 The U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed) had no choice but to respond with a series of rate increases, and the investment landscape was suddenly upended to become the one we face today, characterized by stubbornly high inflation, restrictive monetary policy, and potentially overvalued asset prices.

The silver lining for fixed-income investors, though, is that yield has finally returned to the bond markets. For instance, to date in 2023, yields on the 10-year U.S. Treasury have generally traded in the 3.5% to 4.0% range, which is twice the level from early last year. Meanwhile, the three-month T-bill has experienced an even more pronounced jump, from 0.08% at the start of 2022 to 5.10% at the end of April 2023.3 Income in 2023 is no longer quite so elusive.

Back to the aughts: yields are now at levels not seen since before the global financial crisis

Source: Bloomberg, as of 30 April 2023. It is not possible to invest directly in an index. Yield to worst is the lowest potential yield calculated by taking into account an issue’s optionality, such as prepayments or calls.

 

Bonds have been unusually poor risk mitigators lately—but that may soon change

We’d be remiss to not acknowledge that income isn’t the only reason investors hold bonds. Reducing overall portfolio risk, especially relative to equity allocations, has always been one of the chief functions of fixed income. On that score, it’s been a particularly challenging period for investors.

While the one-year correlation of the Bloomberg U.S. Aggregate Bond Index versus the S&P 500 Index has historically been highly volatile, we see that it tends to coalesce in a range from –0.2 to 0.2; for the decade prior to 2022 (2012–2021), the average was essentially zero, coming in at –0.02. Today, the correlation is almost 0.8 and is approaching a 50-year high.4 That’s been a bitter pill to swallow for investors who held fixed income to offset equity risk, particularly given last year’s decline of more than 18% for the S&P 500, as broad-based bond exposures also produced double-digit losses.5

Looking ahead, however, we believe correlations are likely to be more in line with their historical norms. While inflation may remain elevated for some time, we believe the initial shock has been priced into markets and that a slowdown in global growth will soon be the next major event for markets to metabolize. As risk appetites diminish, we anticipate the correlation of stocks and bonds to begin to fall. And a slowdown at this stage feels increasingly likely: The IMF recently pegged its outlook for global growth over the next five years at just 3.0 percent––the lowest five-year forecast it’s ever published.6

For all of these reasons and more, it seems likely that we’re on the cusp of a great reawakening for bond investors, as their collective appetite for higher-quality, intermediate-duration fixed-income securities—those more garden-variety holdings that were so unappealing for so long from an income perspective—returns in force.

Rolling 1-year correlations are abnormally high

Source: FactSet, as of 30 April 2023. It is not possible to invest directly in an index.

 

What now? Positioning portfolios for a bond market in transition

It’s likely no surprise that our belief about the most prudent way to navigate the coming transition is fundamentally no different than our baseline philosophy: that a broadly diversified, actively managed approach allows investors to proactively respond to fluctuating risks in the markets. We see several attractive opportunities worth highlighting further.

Interest rate positioning: As we’ve illustrated, since investors are now being compensated appropriately (in the form of yield) for the risk of any additional rate hikes, we think now is the time to begin embracing interest rate risk: The higher income base investors earn would act as an offset to price losses should yields move materially higher from here. We also see a benefit to emphasizing global diversification when it comes to duration exposure. We believe as we move further into a late-cycle environment, there could also be benefits in allocating to countries where local economies may be more sensitive—or vulnerable—to higher interest rates. We’d expect those countries to begin cutting policy rates before the Fed is ready to move.

Credit positioning: Within corporate bonds, we hold a positive outlook for investment-grade and select higher-quality high-yield bonds that operate in sectors poised to benefit from the broader economic reopening, including travel, leisure, and food services. We also believe that commodity producers and more defensive industries such as healthcare, utilities, and non-cyclical consumer segments can perform well in the current environment. Select securitized assets are also attractive as they can diversify a portfolio away from traditional corporate credit risk. Within that space, we’re finding attractive offerings in commercial mortgage-backed securities tied to life sciences, traditional agency mortgage-backed securities, and also unique asset-backed securities.

Currency positioning: Our analysis suggests the USD likely peaked in late 2022 and, looking out over the medium term, we believe a less hawkish (or possibly easing) Fed policy, coupled with the potential for a shallow U.S. recession, could result in the dollar falling further. A weaker dollar would benefit international fixed-income markets; subsequently, we believe non-North American currencies have become more attractive, particularly in places like the Eurozone where interest rates have normalized. Select local emerging-market currencies from jurisdictions where central banks have preemptively raised interest rates also look attractive from both a carry and total return perspective. We would caution, however, that within emerging markets, country selection can prove of paramount importance given elevated geopolitical, political, and liquidity risks experienced in the sector. We prefer higher quality, liquid emerging markets with strong fiscal positions, independent central banks, and floating exchange rates (rather than pegged). Targeted exposures in Latin America (LATAM), where investors can pick up double-digit yields on short-term bonds, and Asia, which should benefit from peaking inflation and better growth prospects on the back of China’s economic reopening, both look appealing.

 

Download full PDF

 


 

1 U.S. Department of the Treasury, as of 30 April 2023.

Bureau of Labor Statistics, as of 30 April 2023.

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, as of 30 April 2023.

Bloomberg, as of 30 April 30, 2023.

Standard & Poor’s, as of 30 April 2023.

International Monetary Fund, World Economic Outlook, April 2023.

  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    Read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    Read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    Read more
See all
  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

政策轉向前暫停加息:為迎接政策轉變部署債券投資組合

26/6/2023

環球多元行業定息產品高級組合經理 Christopher M. Chapman

債券市場大幅重新定價,對固定收益投資者帶來深遠影響,尤其是風險預算增至高於歷史水平的投資者。考慮到目前市場環境,加上即將踏入下一周期階段,環球多元行業定息產品高級組合經理Christopher M. Chapman認為,現在是投資者調整投資組合風險和未來預期的理想時機。

 

回望2007年夏天,環球金融危機的徵兆僅開始浮現,美國10年期國庫券孳息率便已跌穿5%關口。此後16年內,孳息率一直未有觸及5%關口。相反,10年期債券孳息率在2020年8月曾跌至0.52%的歷史低位,並在這個不幸的年份內絕大部份時間徘徊於1%以下。1

然而,只是短短16個月,一切都已經改變。首先,美國通脹由不足2%躍升至40年高位的9%。2美國聯儲局別無選擇,連番加息,投資環境突然出現翻天覆地的變化,形成今天的局面:通脹居高不下、央行實行緊縮性貨幣政策,以及資產價格可能被高估。不過,固定收益投資者還有一絲希望,因為債券市場終於重新展現收益。舉例來說,2023年初至今,美國10年期國庫券孳息率大致介乎3.5%至4.0%區間,是去年初的兩倍。另一方面,三個月國庫票據的升幅更為顯著,由2022年初的0.08%升至2023年4月底的5.10%。3在2023年,收益不再是遙不可及。

對比21世紀頭十年:目前孳息率處於環球金融危機前未見的水平

資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2023年4月30日。投資者不可直接投資於指數。最低孳息率是考慮發行人選擇權(例如提前還款或繳付資本通知)後計算所得的最低潛在孳息率。

 

近年債券緩解風險的能力異常失色,但情況可能快將改變

我們必須理解收益不是投資者持有債券的唯一原因。降低整體投資組合風險,尤其是相對股票配置的風險,一直是固定收益的主要作用之一。從這方面來看,過去一段時間投資者確實備受考驗。

參考歷史數據,彭博美國綜合債券指數對比標準普爾500指數的一年期相關系數一直相當波動,但在2022年前的十年期間(2012年至2021年),兩者的相關系數通常在 -0.2至0.2的區間徘徊,而且平均值基本上等於零,處於 -0.02的水平。時至今日,這項相關系數接近0.8,迫近50年高位。4對旨在抵銷股票風險的固定收益投資者而言,這種情況的確難以接受,特別是考慮到標準普爾500指數在去年下跌超過18%,而整體債券市場同樣出現雙位數的跌幅。5

展望未來,我們相信相關系數有可能日漸與歷史常態更為一致。雖然通脹可能在若干時間內居高不下,但我們認為市場已消化初期的衝擊,環球經濟增長放緩在短期內將會成為推動市場去舊迎新的下一個重大事件。隨著風險情緒減弱,我們預計股債相關性將開始下降。目前經濟放緩的概率似乎日漸上升:國際貨幣基金組織近期預測環球未來五年增長只有3.0%,是歷來公布的最低五年預測。6

基於上述所有原因,目前有可能是債券投資者覺醒的重要時刻:他們將再次爭相投資於優質的中等存續期固定收益證券,即使從收益角度來看,這些長期以來都是沒有太大吸引力的一般投資。

滾動一年相關系數: 彭博美國綜合債券指數對比標準普爾500指數

資料來源:Factset,截至2023年4月30日。投資者不可直接投資於指數。

 

下一步如何行動?部署投資組合應對債市轉變

我們堅信應採取最審慎的方式,來駕馭即將到來的轉變。毫無疑問,這與我們的基本理念不謀而合:廣泛分散投資的主動型管理策略有助投資者主動應對市場波動的風險。由於個別機遇具有吸引力,我們認為值得進一步詳述。

利率部署:正如我們所言,鑑於投資者目前已獲得相稱的補償(透過孳息率),抵銷任何進一步加息的風險,我們認為現在是開始承擔利率風險的時機:如果孳息率從現在開始大幅上升,投資者的收益基礎將會提高,從而抵銷價格虧損。我們也認為在存續期配置方面著重環球分散投資能帶來助益。我們相信,隨著經濟環境進一步踏入周期後段,配置於本土經濟可能對加息更敏感或因加息而變得更脆弱的國家也有好處。我們預計,在聯儲局準備行動之前,這些國家將開始調低政策利率。

信貸部署:企業債券方面,我們看好投資級別債券的前景,以及有望受惠於廣泛經濟重啓的行業,包括旅遊、休閒和食品服務行業內的個別優質高收益債券。我們還認為,商品生產商以及康健護理、公用事業和非周期性消費品等防守性較強的行業,能夠在當前市況下表現出色。個別證券化資產有助投資組合分散傳統企業信貸風險,因此具有吸引力。其中,我們發現與生命科學相關的商業按揭抵押證券、傳統機構按揭抵押證券及獨特的資產抵押證券等產品更是別具吸引力。

貨幣部署:我們的分析反映,美元可能在2022年底見頂,從中期來看,聯儲局的政策立場將趨向溫和(甚至放寬政策),加上美國經濟有機會出現溫和衰退,可能導致美元進一步貶值。美元走軟將對國際固定收益市場有利,因此我們認為非北美國家貨幣的吸引力有所增加,特別是在歐元區等利率開始正常化的地區。從利差和總回報角度來看,個別新興市場本地貨幣也具有吸引力,而這些國家的央行在最初率先加息。然而,考慮到這類貨幣面臨更大的地緣政治、政治及流動性風險,我們要提醒投資者,新興市場的國家選擇至為重要。我們看好質素和流動性較高的新興市場,這類市場的財政狀況強勁,而且有獨立央行,並實行浮動匯率制(而非聯匯機制)。拉丁美洲和亞洲的針對性投資都別具吸引力,投資者可透過拉丁美洲的短期債券取得雙位數的孳息率,而亞洲則有望受惠於通脹見頂,以及中國經濟重啓帶動區內增長前景改善。

 

下載全份文件

 


 

1 美國財政部,截至2023年4月30日。

美國勞工統計局,截至2023年4月30日。

聖路易斯聯邦儲備銀行,截至2023年4月30日。

彭博資訊,截至2023年4月30日。

標準普爾,截至2023年4月30日。

國際貨幣基金組織《世界經濟展望》,2023年4月。

  • 中港股市最新動態

    儘管市場下跌,但我們認為,香港恒生指數已反映內地2023年第四季的國內生產總值增長趨勢,而且投資者忽略了一些亮點。中國內地的四大主要增長動力(即「4A」)維持不變,去庫存的進展優於預期,加上更多政策措施出台,意味著經濟可望見底。

    閱讀更多
  • 指數納入印度債券:吸引外資並鞏固區內優勢

    印度政府債券被摩根大通納入旗下新興市場政府債券指數的全球指數系列,我們探討此重大決定對印度債市的短期和長期影響。

    閱讀更多
  • 印度獲納入指數將推動當地 邁向下一個增長階段的進程

    印度即將獲納入摩根大通新興市場政府債券指數,我們剖析將如何帶動全球資金流入當地市場。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    read more
see all
確認