Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Beyond the Fed’s hawkish “pause”: three macro elements to consider

15 June 2023

Frances Donald, Global Chief Economist and Strategist, Multi-Asset Solutions Team

The U.S. Federal Reserve kept rates steady at its June meeting. Our base case is that the Fed will indeed raise rates in July, with the obvious caveat that a deterioration in inflation or employment data could make the Fed more inclined to hold rates steady for another meeting. Frances Donald, Global Chief Economist and Strategist, Multi-Asset Solutions Team, discusses three main implications in this market note.

 

After aggressively raising rates by a cumulative 500 basis points (bps) since March of last year, the U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed) left its policy rate unchanged at 5.25% at its June meeting. The accompanying statement mentions that holding the target rate steady this month will allow the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) to gather “more information” to determine if additional monetary tightening is needed. However, FOMC members also signaled their intention to raise rates two additional times by the end of the year. All in all, the underlying message from this decision can basically be summarised as: “better, but higher and longer.” 

A better economy, as the summary of economic projections mostly revealed an improved economic outlook: stronger, but still weak, economic growth in 2023 with a modest rebound in 2024, an unemployment rate that rises by less than expected, to 4.5% by the end 2024, and more persistent core inflation.

Higher rates, as the FOMC’s famous “dot plot” implies a material risk of a rate hike as soon as July, and potentially another one later this year. Our base case is that the Fed will indeed raise rates in July, with the obvious caveat that a deterioration in inflation or employment data could make the Fed more inclined to hold rates steady for another meeting.

But most importantly, higher rates for longer. In his press conference, Fed Chair Powell mentioned that risks to inflation "are to the upside” and that interest rate cuts are probably “a couple years out”. In other words, Powell pushes back against markets pricing in early rate cuts. 

From a global perspective, none of this is new. Over the past year, we’ve noticed that central banks have demonstrated two substantial biases. First, moving earlier and faster in the presence of inflation is better than moving late and slow (i.e., front-loading rates is preferable). Second, we now see that there’s a critical distinction between pausing and pivoting. For instance, the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) and, more recently, the Bank of Canada (BoC) resumed hiking rates after indicating they were pausing.

The macro context surrounding the RBA and the BoC’s respective decision to raise rates is key: sustained, elevated levels of inflation, which are similar to what we’re seeing in the U.S. economy and many parts of the world.

Yet, the most important question for economic forecasters doesn’t relate to rate hikes or how much higher rates can go, but what the shape of the next interest-rate easing cycle will look like. While the mainstream narrative will likely focus on whether the Fed will hike again at its next meeting on 28 July, we think the more important question for investors is how and when the central bank will respond to the expected slowdown in U.S. growth.

Looking back, we know that the Fed responded to the last three recessions by announcing interest-rate cuts shortly after signs of economic distress became observable. It could be slightly different this time. While we still expect the Fed to begin cutting rates in 2024, we think it will be less inclined to ease relative to past cycles, particularly over the next 6 to 12 months. In our view, how the next easing cycle could look—and the extent to which rates could fall—will depend on three characteristics of the coming recessionary environment.

1. Prices may continue to fall, but 2% inflation remains elusive

We have fairly high conviction that U.S. headline inflation will fall to around 3% by year end, but the odds of inflation hitting 2% or below in the near term are lower than they’ve been in the past. Indeed, we continue to believe that supply-side issues and global factors such as deglobalization, political conflicts, and increasingly frequent and severe weather events are making the hoped-for return to 2% inflation more challenging. This is relevant not just to the Fed, but central banks globally, many of whom might need to make a difficult choice:

  • Accept that there’s a limit to how far monetary policy—specifically, interest rates—can influence price levels and concede that a higher inflation target is necessary, or
  • Actively pursue their respective inflation target at the expense of growth, recognizing that such a policy choice could potentially lead to more frequent recessions and a structurally lower growth profile.

2. Return of the two-speed economy

A two-speed economy, in which the manufacturing/goods segment of the economy is running in a deeper contractionary space than the services and labor economy, is likely to make an unwelcome return to the United States. Crucially, while we expect the U.S. unemployment rate to rise in the coming year, it’s likely to rise by less than it did during past recessions. In our view, labor supply will continue to be an issue—a function of structural changes in the economy—and it’s likely to affect the services sector the most. That said, while we expect the jobless rate to remain relatively low, we could see other challenges within the labor market (e.g., weak hours worked and below-trend wage growth). This may give the Fed and other central banks some cover to maintain a relatively less accommodative approach to monetary policy than they had done in past recessions. This is one reason why we believe that the Fed’s next rate-cut cycle may not go as far as previous easing cycles.

3. A recession may be on the horizon, but we could still see signs of excesses in asset prices

Recession concerns may be elevated, but key U.S. stock indexes seem to be telling a different story, thanks to the exuberance brought about by progress in the artificial intelligence space. Look deeper, however, and the cracks begin to show. It’s still too early to write off the U.S. regional banking crisis, which continues to percolate beneath the surface—the scale of its impact on the commercial real estate sector has yet to be fully understood.

Unlike past economic cycles in which signs of banking system stress and stock market declines would convince the Fed to reverse its tightening policies and thereby trigger the Fed put, this time could be different. The default setting may no longer apply and markets might need to recalibrate their expectations.

As we’ve argued previously, central banks’ approach to policymaking has evolved and falls in asset prices could well have become a feature of central banking thinking rather than a bug. As such, we believe the Fed could be less motivated to implement ultra-easy policy in the face of market events when compared with the past. The macro backdrop is in the process of becoming more complicated and caution is certainly warranted.

 

 

Download full PDF

 

 


 

 

  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    Read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    Read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    Read more
See all
  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

聯儲局「鷹派暫停加息」背後考慮的三個宏觀因素

15/6/2023

環球首席經濟師兼策略師 Frances Donald

美國聯儲局在6月份議息會議上維持利率不變。我們的基本情況預測是聯儲局確實有機會在7月加息,但顯然,我們須警愓一旦通脹回落或就業數據惡化,聯儲局便可能傾向在下一次會議維持利率不變。在本期市場通訊,環球首席經濟師兼策略師Frances Donald將探討聯儲局議息決定的三個重要啟示。

 

美國聯儲局自去年3月以來累計大幅加息500基點後,在6月份會議上暫停加息,政策利率維持在5.25%。會後聲明提到,本月維持目標利率不變,讓聯邦公開市場委員會得以收集「更多資料」,以釐定是否需要進一步收緊貨幣政策。然而,聯邦公開市場委員會成員亦暗示在年底前仍有可能加息兩次。總而言之,這次決議的訊息基本上可概括為:「經濟狀況轉佳,但息口將於較高水平維持更長時間。」

經濟狀況轉佳,因為經濟預測大體揭示經濟前景改善:2023年的經濟增長轉強,儘管仍然疲軟;至於2024年則輕微反彈,失業率升幅低於預期,在2024年底前為4.5%,以及更持久的核心通脹。

利率上升,正如聯邦公開市場委員會的「點陣圖」暗示,利率上升存在重大風險:儲局最快或於7月恢復加息,並可能在今年稍後時間再加一次息。我們的基本情況預測是聯儲局確實有機會在7月加息,但顯然,我們須警愓一旦通脹回落或就業數據惡化,聯儲局便可能傾向在下一次會議維持利率不變。

最重要的是,高息將維持更長時間。聯儲局主席鮑威爾在新聞發布會上提到通脹風險「呈上行趨勢」,減息可能要「留待數年之後」。換言之,鮑威爾正企圖淡化市場對提早減息的預期。

從全球角度來看,這並非嶄新舉措。在過去一年,我們注意到各國央行普遍展現兩個重大的取向:首先,在通脹環境下,及早和盡快採取行動將比反應遲緩為佳(即傾向提早加息)。其次,央行行動亦正反映暫停加息與政策轉向之間的分別。舉例說,澳洲儲備銀行以至較近期的加拿大央行,均於暫停加息後再度恢復加息。

關鍵在於影響澳洲儲備銀行及加拿大央行加息決定的宏觀因素:通脹水平持續高企,情況與現時的美國經濟及全球許多地區相若。

然而,對經濟分析師來說,最重要的問題與加息或加息幅度無關,反而是下一個利率寬鬆周期的形態如何。雖然主流分析可能關注聯儲局會否在下一次會議(7月28日)再次加息,但我們認為對投資者來說,更重要的問題是在預期美國經濟增長放緩的情況下,聯儲局將如何何時作出應對。

回顧聯儲局應對過去三次衰退的策略,其均在經濟明顯出現受壓跡象後隨即宣布減息。不過,這次情況可能略有不同。雖然我們仍預期聯儲局在2024年開始減息,但相對於過往周期,聯儲局將較不傾向放寬政策,尤其是在未來6至12個月。我們認為下一個寬鬆周期的發展和潛在減息幅度,將取決於未來衰退環境的三個特徵。

1. 物價或繼續回落,但通脹降至2%的目標仍渺茫

我們頗有信心美國整體通脹到年底將降至3%左右,但在短期內跌至2%或以下的機率低於過往。事實上,我們仍然認為供應面問題和全球因素令通脹重返2%的目標面對更大挑戰,有關因素包括去全球化、政治衝突,以及愈趨頻繁和嚴重的極端天氣事件。這不僅與聯儲局息息相關,全球央行亦無法置身事外,許多央行可能需要作出艱難的決擇:

  • 接受貨幣政策(特別是利率)對物價水平的影響力有限,並承認需要提高通脹目標,或
  • 積極實現各自的通脹目標,並以經濟增長作為代價,明白到這樣的政策決定或會引致更頻繁的衰退和較低的結構性增長。

2. 雙速經濟重現

美國不願看到的雙速經濟可能重現。雙速經濟是指製造業/貨品經濟領域處於較深度的收縮區間,但服務業和勞工經濟領域則表現相對強韌。重要的是,雖然美國失業率料將在未來一年上升,但升幅可能低於過往衰退期間的水平。我們認為勞動力供應將繼續是美國面對的問題(源於經濟結構轉型),並很可能對服務業造成最大影響。此外,雖然我們預期失業率將保持相對偏低,但勞工市場或會面對其他挑戰(例如,工時不足和工資增長低於長期趨勢)。這個情況或會為聯儲局和其他央行提供一些理據,以維持相對過往衰退期間較不寬鬆的貨幣政策。這就是我們認為聯儲局下一個減息周期的幅度,可能低於過往寬鬆周期的原因之一。

3. 經濟衰退或即將來臨,但資產價格仍有過高跡象

經濟衰退的憂慮或會加劇,但鑑於人工智能領域的進展令投資氣氛變得熾熱,美國主要股票指數似乎呈現截然不同的情況。然而,仔細觀察可見危機開始浮現。美國地區性銀行危機繼續滲透至更深層次,其對商業房地產領域的影響程度尚未完全明確,因此目前撇除其影響仍為時過早。

於過往的經濟周期,當銀行體系出現受壓跡象和股市下跌時,均會促使聯儲局逆轉緊縮政策立場,繼而觸發聯儲局托市行動,但本次經濟周期或與過往有所不同。既定假設可能不再適用,市場亦或許需要重新調整預期。

正如我們早前所述,各國央行的政策制定方針已有所改變,資產價格下跌很可能已成為央行決策的一個特點,而非須要解決的問題。因此,我們認為當聯儲局面對不同市場事件時,其實施超寬鬆政策的動力與過往相比或有減弱。宏觀環境日趨複雜,投資者務必審慎而行。

 

下載全份文件

 


 

 

  • 中港股市最新動態

    儘管市場下跌,但我們認為,香港恒生指數已反映內地2023年第四季的國內生產總值增長趨勢,而且投資者忽略了一些亮點。中國內地的四大主要增長動力(即「4A」)維持不變,去庫存的進展優於預期,加上更多政策措施出台,意味著經濟可望見底。

    閱讀更多
  • 指數納入印度債券:吸引外資並鞏固區內優勢

    印度政府債券被摩根大通納入旗下新興市場政府債券指數的全球指數系列,我們探討此重大決定對印度債市的短期和長期影響。

    閱讀更多
  • 印度獲納入指數將推動當地 邁向下一個增長階段的進程

    印度即將獲納入摩根大通新興市場政府債券指數,我們剖析將如何帶動全球資金流入當地市場。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    read more
see all
確認