Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Accelerating momentum amid a transitioning macro backdrop

23 January 2024

Endre Pedersen, Deputy Chief Investment Officer, Fixed Income, Global

Murray Collis, Chief Investment Officer, Fixed Income(Asia ex-Japan)

Chris Lam, Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income

Eric Lo, Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income, Pan-Asian Bonds

Further monetary tightening by the US Federal Reserve (Fed) and the ongoing ructions in China’s real estate sector again weighed on Asian Fixed Income in 2023. However, a potential pivot from the Fed in late 2023 and Asia’s resiliency led to positive returns and outperformance for the year. As Endre Pedersen, Murray Collis, and the Pan-Asian Fixed Income team argue, a changing global rates environment positions the asset class to accelerate in 2024 with attractive nominal yields and carry opportunities. Credit is slated to continue posting a positive performance amid a diversifying investment universe, with potential upside for selective markets and sectors with strong credit fundamentals.

Investors entered 2023 with arguably greater certainty than the previous year. The threat of inflation was well known, and it continued to dominate the macroeconomic landscape and monetary policy. Indeed, after the Fed hiked rates by a historic 425-450 basis points (bps) in 2022, the US central bank delivered a further 100 bps of hikes last year, bringing the federal funds rate to 5.25%-5.50% by August 2023. The US central bank subsequently paused from September onwards.

However, uncertainty persisted, as investors wondered when the Fed would halt and whether the US economy could ultimately achieve a ‘soft landing’. As a result, US Treasuries experienced significant volatility, particularly longer-duration bonds. The 10-year Treasury, which began the year at 3.88% peaked at around 5%, before receding at the year’s end. The MOVE Index, a measure of US Treasury option volatility across maturities, spiked in 2023 to the highest level since 2008.

Against this backdrop and despite heightened volatility, Asian fixed income outperformed global fixed income and the broader emerging market universe (See Chart 1).

Chart 1: Global fixed income performance (2019-2023)1

From a credit spread perspective, Asian investment- grade (IG) bonds continued demonstrating resilience, tightening by roughly 32 bps in 20232. This was mainly due to a shorter duration profile and an investment universe containing a greater concentration of state-owned firms in more resilient regional economies. IG’s total return grew by 7.4%, driven by solid credit fundamentals and falling US Treasury yields towards the end of 20233.

Asian high yield (HY) also posted a positive return, albeit at a slower pace of 4.8%, amid the strong performance of regional sectors such as Indian renewables and Macau gaming, offsetting the volatility and adverse sentiment of China’s property sector4.

2024: Yield and carry opportunities remain relatively attractive with a resilient regional economic profile


As we move into 2024, the interest-rate environment is likely to stabilise after the high volatility experienced over the past two years.

Our base case is that the Fed is near or at the end of its current rate hiking cycle. Once this is confirmed, we believe several positive catalysts will emerge to stabilise the macroeconomic environment and benefit Asia.

Indeed, even as the IMF estimates global economic growth to decelerate this year to 2.9%, Asia is projected to be the fastest-growing global region at 4.2% in 2024 due to its diversified growth profile.

China’s economic growth lagged market expectations in 2023. Still, we believe that recent signals of strengthening fiscal and monetary policy and more targeted measures to help the property sector, such as recent reports of a list of developers eligible for financing, are constructive.

Equally important, economies, such as India and Indonesia, have developed new sources of growth that can add to the region’s resiliency.

India posted the fastest growth in Asia among large economies in 2023 due to robust government investment in infrastructure and successful manufacturing onshoring schemes like the Production Linked Incentives. Meanwhile, Indonesia is developing a domestic supply chain to produce electric vehicle batteries that allow value-added activities pertaining to key minerals, such as bauxite and nickel, to remain onshore.

In the next section, we will break down our 2024 Asian fixed-income outlook into three areas: credit, rates, and currency. 

 

2024 IG: Continued strong credit fundamentals

Asian IG credit posted resilient performance in 2023 despite a volatile global market due to strong credit fundamentals and robust regional economic growth, both are expected to continue in the new year.

Supply-side factors also played a role: Asian credit issuance declined by 22% year-on-year in 2023 (See Chart 2) due to higher yields for US-dollar-denominated bonds, which has led many companies to seek cheaper domestic funding options.

Moving into 2024, although we expect lower yields to incentivize a gradual rise in IG issuance, we don’t expect the net supply of bonds to be positive this year (given maturities) unless the Fed embarks on an aggressive rate cuts cycle.

Chart 2: Asia credit total issuance, 2019-2023 (US $bn)5

Additionally, although we see some potential spread widening for IG bonds if Treasury yields continue to move lower, the overall total return of the market should still be positive as declining nominal yields outweigh the loss due to widening credit spreads.

Based on this backdrop, we are constructive on selective pockets of regional IG opportunities. As always, bottom-up credit selection remains imperative.

  • Selective privately-owned enterprises (POEs) in China, primarily with a credit rating of ‘BBB’. Although China’s economy will likely remain volatile in 2024, we believe that selective POEs with strong fundamentals are poised to outperform and benefit from China’s structural consumption growth.
  • Asian regional bank capital bonds can offer a compelling risk-reward proposition. Indeed, Asian banks have shown resiliency after a raft of US banking failures in March 2023. Overall, the state-owned backing of many Asian banks augurs well, as they are less volatile and more likely to be viewed as systemically important by governments across the region.

    For example, we see opportunities in Indian banks backed by strong economic performance, improving asset quality, and growing demand for corporate and consumer lending. Additionally, we are constructive on the bank capital bonds of more stable and well-capitalized Australian banks, where we see attractive valuations. By moving down the credit curve, we can obtain higher yields while managing risk among internationally renowned financial institutions with robust corporate governance.

    Finally, these instruments also play a key role in portfolio diversification, particularly as overall issuance in the regional IG space has lagged over the past two years.

2024 HY: Evolving opportunities in an expanding credit universe 

China property continued to weigh on HY performance and investor sentiment in 2023. But as we have previously pointed out, China property is playing a less critical role in the HY investment universe as a significant number of firms have defaulted, with some declaring bankruptcy. Since 2021 when the Chinese property sector slump started, 115 defaults totalling US $144 billion have been registered.

We believe the sector will stabilise over the long term amid the continued supportive measures by the government; however, it will not return to the days when it contributed roughly 25-30% of the country’s GDP.

Indeed, we envisage the sector continuing to contract and undergo significant consolidation. The path to this inevitable outcome will likely see continued volatility, that said, the number of defaults is expected to gradually decrease over time.

Perhaps more important for investors, with China property only currently accounting for roughly 5% of the J.P. Morgan Asia Credit Index (JACI) HY (approximately 40% at its peak), we expect there are evolving opportunities in a diversifying credit universe. Thus, further volatility in the sector should have less influence on market performance than larger corporate segments such as Indian renewable energy and Macao gaming (See Chart 3).

Chart 3: JACI HY composition by sector6

Furthermore, entering 2024, the credit fundamentals of the overall Asian HY space are expected to improve further. While defaults remain elevated at 12.5% (estimated) in 2023, far above the historical average, they are forecast to notably decelerate to 10.3% in 20247 (See Chart 4).

Chart 4: Asian HY historical default rates, 2003-2024E8

Overall, we are constructive on the following HY segments for 2024:

  • Indian infrastructure names are attractive, with a strong macro story and robust government support. India’s economy is arguably the strongest in the region, and the Indian government has earmarked US$120 billion for infrastructure investment in the upcoming fiscal year. This has led to an improving credit profile: roughly 29% of credit upgrades in India during the first six months of 2023 were related to infrastructure – the most of any sector.
  • Macao casinos have resilient credit fundamentals post-China’s reopening in early 2023. Although China’s economic growth has been slower than expected, Macao’s recovery continued with an uptick in tourists during Golden Week, which led to some credit upgrades. We also see attractively valued opportunities in the sector within the Asian HY space.

    Overall, the landscape of the Asian high yield market has changed dramatically over the past three years to become more diversified from a geographic and sector basis.
  • China’s property sector currently constitutes a significantly smaller proportion of the HY universe (roughly 5%) than before. The government has expanded support beyond the supply side (developers) to include the demand side (consumers), in addition to the deep discounts presented in the market. Overall, we are cautiously optimistic and are highly selective on issuers during this K-shaped consolidation process.

2024 Rates: Selective opportunities in high-yielding markets

As the Fed is near or at the end of its tightening cycle, we envisage a constructive environment for Asian rates in 2024.

Overall, Asian central banks have varied in their responses to a hiking Fed in 2023: Amid a more benign inflationary environment, some regional central banks, such as those in India and Indonesia, did not match the Fed’s pace with continued rate hikes.

With the Fed and other global central banks likely on pause and receding regional inflationary pressures in 2024, we believe some Asian central banks have room for potential rate cuts.

As Asian local-currency rates markets have largely outperformed US Treasuries due to a more measured approach to inflation9, we remain constructive on three high-yielding markets in 2024.

  • Indonesia offers an attractive nominal yield, with the 10-year government bond roughly at 6.50%10. Further, we believe that Bank Indonesia has potential room to cut rates after hiking its policy rate to 6% in October, primarily to protect the currency. Inflation has steadily fallen and remained within the central bank’s target of 4%11. Finally, the country’s fiscal situation is seeing improvement, with projected fiscal deficits for 2023 and 2024, respectively, both estimated to be lower than the 2.35% posted in 2022.
  • The Indian market arguably boasts the strongest fundamentals regionally and offers an attractive 10-year government bond yield of around 7.20%12. Growth remains robust with third-quarter GDP at 7.6% (year-on-year), which is the strongest in the region, while inflation has receded and the trade and current account deficits have stabilised.

    In addition, the market may benefit from potential further inclusion in global indices: the J.P. Morgan GBI-EM suite of indices will include Indian government bonds starting in June this year, with Bloomberg Barclays and FTSE also considering the country for inclusion in 2024.
  • Finally, the Philippines offers relatively attractive valuation opportunities, given its higher volatility profile. The country’s rate environment has displayed historically high beta with the Fed; thus, it could benefit more than other regional markets when the Fed pauses its current rate hiking cycle.

2024 Currency: Rupiah and Won forecast as bright spots

The US dollar had a volatile 2023, with the DXY initially strengthening on the back of higher rate differentials, only to end the year roughly flat. Asian currencies posted a mixed performance, with several markets enjoying gains against the greenback in 2023 (See Chart 5).

Chart 5: Asian currency performance versus US dollar13

We believe that once the Fed signals it has stopped its rate hiking cycle, this will be broadly supportive of Asian currencies in 2024. We are particularly constructive on two currencies:

  • Indonesia’s rupiah is poised for greater stability and performance in 2024 due to an improved global rates environment and potential increases in portfolio and foreign direct investment. Foreign investors currently hold less than 15% of outstanding government bonds, while this was close to 40% before the outbreak of COVID-19 in 2020. This proportion could potentially increase with higher yields and a more stable currency. Foreign direct investment is also accelerating as the country builds a domestic ecosystem to produce electric vehicle batteries and other high-tech products.
  • Korea’s won is also slated to perform after a late-year rebound in 2023. Exports posted positive year-on-year performance in October for the first time in 13 months after the trough in semiconductor demand passed. With demand for semiconductors and artificial intelligence-related products expected to rise over the near term, Korea’s exports will likely remain upbeat and contribute to a positive current account in the new year. 

Conclusion:

After 18 months of Fed interest rate hikes and further consolidation in the Chinese property sector, Asian fixed income rebounded into positive territory in 2023 and shows signs of green shoots for 2024.

This momentum can continue in 2024 on the back of a more accommodative Fed, strong regional and corporate economic performance, and resilient credit fundamentals. We believe Asian bond markets have the potential to significantly outperform globally, as we move closer to an ending of the Fed’s monetary tightening cycle and bottoming of the Chinese property sector.

However, markets are likely to remain volatile in the interim. In addition to the potential risks over evolving inflation and monetary policy, Asia will experience key elections this year in India, Indonesia, Taiwan, and South Korea- not to mention significant elections outside the region in the United States.

Bottom-up credit analysis remains imperative as credit is expected to remain challenging as higher rates may lead to slowing economic activity. Selective rate markets and currencies could also contribute based on solid fundamentals.

 

Download full PDF

 


 

1 Source Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023. Asian fixed income= JACICOTR; Emerging Markets fixed income= JGENVUUG; Global fixed income=LEGATRUU. Rebased to 100 as of January 2019.

2 Source: Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023. JACIIGBS.

3 Source: Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023. JACIIGTR.

4 Source: Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023. JACINGTR.

5 Source: J.P. Morgan, as of 29 December 2023.

6 Source: J.P. Morgan, as of 15 November 2023.

7 Source: Goldman Sachs, November 24.

8 Source: Goldman Sachs, November 2023.

9 Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023.

10 Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023.

11 Bank of Indonesia web site.

12 Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023.

13 Source: Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2023.

  • Asset allocation outlook: balance of risks tilt to the downside

    Investors are navigating an environment characterized by significant global economic resilience, but with crosscurrents. We review some of the themes driving our latest asset allocation outlook.

    Read more
  • 2024 Outlook Series: Global Healthcare Equities

    2023 was a tumultuous year for equity markets and the healthcare sector. For 2024, we maintain a sense of considerable optimism for the performance of healthcare equities and the underlying key subsector themes.

    Read more
  • Asset allocation outlook: proceed with caution

    There were a number of key economic and market themes in flux in 2023, most notably a global economic environment that held up stronger than most market participants predicted. As 2024 gets under way, we look at some of the themes driving our asset allocation outlook.

    Read more
See all
  • Asset allocation outlook: balance of risks tilt to the downside

    Investors are navigating an environment characterized by significant global economic resilience, but with crosscurrents. We review some of the themes driving our latest asset allocation outlook.

    Read more
  • 2024 Outlook Series: Global Healthcare Equities

    2023 was a tumultuous year for equity markets and the healthcare sector. For 2024, we maintain a sense of considerable optimism for the performance of healthcare equities and the underlying key subsector themes.

    Read more
  • Asset allocation outlook: proceed with caution

    There were a number of key economic and market themes in flux in 2023, most notably a global economic environment that held up stronger than most market participants predicted. As 2024 gets under way, we look at some of the themes driving our asset allocation outlook.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

亞洲固定收益:在過渡性宏觀環境中動力日增

23/1/2024

環球定息產品部副投資總監 彭德信

亞洲(日本除外)定息產品部首席投資總監 Murray Collis

亞洲定息產品投資組合經理 林啟基

定息產品部(泛亞洲債券)投資組合經理 羅孔言,特許財務分析師

回顧2023年,聯儲局進一步收緊貨幣政策,加上中國房地產業持續動盪,令亞洲固定收益再次受壓。但至2023年底,聯儲局政策可能轉向,而且亞洲經濟表現強韌,帶動亞洲固定收益全年計取得正回報和領先表現。正如Endre Pedersen、Murray Collis及泛亞洲固定收益團隊所指,全球利率環境轉變,有利該資產類別在2024年揚升,因其提供吸引的名義孳息率和利差機會。環顧多元化的投資範疇,預料信貸將繼續表現向好,其中信貸基本因素強勁的個別市場和行業具上升潛力。 

回顧2023年初,投資市場比前一年可說是較為明朗。通脹威脅已是眾所周知,並繼續主導宏觀經濟環境及貨幣政策。事實上,聯儲局繼2022年史無前例地加息425至450基點後,在2023年再度加息100基點,使聯邦基金利率在2023年8月升至5.25%至5.50%的區間。隨後,聯儲局自9月開始暫停加息。

然而,不確定性依然存在,投資者仍不知道聯儲局何時停止加息,以及美國經濟最終能否實現「軟著陸」。這導致美國國庫債券大幅波動,特別是長存續期債券。10年期國庫債券孳息率由年初的3.88%升至約5%的高位,其後於年底開始回落。量度不同年期美國國庫債券期權波幅的MOVE指數在2023年飆升,創下自2008年以來的最高水平。

在這環境下,儘管市場反覆波動,但亞洲固定收益表現仍領先環球固定收益及廣泛新興市場領域(見圖1)。

圖1:環球固定收益表現(2019年至2023年)1

從信貸息差的角度來看,亞洲投資級別債券繼續展現韌性,在2023年收窄約32基點2。主要由於這類債券的存續期較短,而且投資範疇集中於區內較具韌性的經濟體的國有企業。憑藉穩健的信貸基本因素,加上美國國庫債券孳息率臨近2023年底下跌,投資級別債券的總回報上升7.4%3

此外,印度可再生能源和澳門博彩等地區行業表現強勁,抵銷中國房地產業的波動和負面氣氛,帶動亞洲高收益債券錄得正回報,但升幅為4.8%4,相對緩慢。

2024年:區內經濟強韌,孳息率及利差機會仍相對吸引

經歷過去兩年的波動市況後,踏入2024年,利率環境可望靠穩。

我們的基本情況預測是,聯儲局當前的加息周期接近或已經結束。若這個情況得以確認,我們相信多項正面催化因素將會浮現,使宏觀經濟環境趨於穩定,利好亞洲市場。

事實上,儘管國際貨幣基金組織估計今年全球經濟增長將放緩至2.9%,但由於亞洲市場增長多元化,預計在2024年將會成為全球增長最迅速的地區,增長率達4.2%。

在2023年,中國經濟增長落後於市場預期。儘管如此,我們認為近日的市場訊號,包括內地加大財政和貨幣政策力度,以及加推扶持房地產業的定向措施,例如最近公佈合資格獲得融資的發展商名單,均屬有利因素。

同樣重要的是,印度和印尼等經濟體已開闢新的增長來源,可為亞洲市場增添韌性。

在2023年,印度是亞洲大型經濟體中增長最迅速的國家,這歸因於當地政府大量投資基建,並成功推行鼓勵本土製造的計劃,例如生產獎勵計劃。與此同時,印尼正在開發國內供應鏈,以生產電動車電池,使與鋁土礦和鎳等關鍵礦物相關的增值活動保留在本土進行。   

在下一部份,我們將會從三個範疇剖析2024年亞洲固定收益的前景:信貸、利率及貨幣。 

2024年投資級別債券:信貸基本因素仍然強勁

在2023年,儘管環球市場動盪,亞洲投資級別信貸仍表現強韌,主要受惠於其信貸基本因素強勁及區內經濟增長穩健,這兩項利好因素可望在新一年持續。   

供應面因素也發揮一定作用:亞洲信貸發行量在2023年按年下跌22%(見圖2),因為美元計價債券的孳息率上升,促使許多企業尋求較便宜的當地融資選擇。

踏入2024年,儘管較低的孳息率料將促使投資級別債券的發行逐步增加,但在計及到期債券後,我們預計,除非聯儲局展開進取的減息週期,否則今年債券淨供應不會是正數。 

圖2:亞洲信貸發行總額(2019年至2023年,10億美元)5

此外,雖然我們預期若美國國庫債券孳息率繼續走低,投資級別債券的息差可能略為擴闊,但整體市場應可繼續提供正面的總回報,因其名義孳息率下降,將抵銷信貸息差擴闊導致的虧損。

基於上述情況,我們看好個別區內投資級別債券機會。一如概往,「由下而上」的信貸選擇仍然重要:

  • 慎選中國民營企業, 主要為「BBB」信貸評級。儘管中國經濟在2024年可能仍反覆波動,但我們認為基本因素強勁的個別民營企業有望表現領先,並受惠於中國的結構性消費增長。
  • 亞洲地區銀行資本債券可提供具吸引力的風險回報。事實上,在2023年3月多家美國銀行倒閉後,亞洲區內銀行仍展現韌性。整體來說,許多亞洲區內銀行具國有背景,因此波動性較低,而且較有可能被當地政府視為系統性重要銀行,所以享有優勢。

    例如,我們認為印度銀行業受惠於當地經濟表現強勁、資產質素改善,以及企業和消費貸款需求增長,因此亦展現投資機會。此外,我們看好較穩定和資本充足的澳洲銀行發行的銀行資本債券,認為其估值具吸引力。在信貸評級較低的債券當中,我們可獲得較高的孳息率,同時透過持有企業管治穩健並享譽國際的金融機構債券管理風險。

    最後,這些工具在投資組合多元化方面亦發揮重要作用,尤其在過去兩年,區內投資級別債券的整體發行量持續滯後。

2024年高收益債券:信貸領域不斷擴張,帶來持續演變的機遇

中國房地產在2023年持續拖累高收益債券的表現和投資氣氛。但正如先前所述,中國房地產對高收益債券投資領域的影響較小,因為大量公司已經違約,部份甚至宣布破產。內房業自2021年開始下滑,至今已錄得115項違約事件,所涉總額達1,440億美元。

我們認為,在政府持續推行支持措施下,內房業長遠將會靠穩,但將無法像以往一樣為國內生產總值帶來約25%至30%的貢獻。

事實上,我們預計中國房地產業將會持續收縮,並出現大規模整合,這個過程將無可避免,而期間可能持續波動,但我們預期違約宗數將會逐漸減少。

或許對投資者而言更重要的是,中國房地產目前僅佔摩根大通亞洲信貸高收益債券指數約5%(高峰時約佔40%),我們預計信貸領域日趨多元化,將帶來持續演變的機遇。因此,與印度可再生能源業和澳門博彩業等較大規模企業債券類別相比,內房業進一步波動對市場表現的影響應該較小(見圖3)。

圖3:摩根大通亞洲信貸高收益債券指數構成(按債類劃分)6

此外,踏入2024年,整體亞洲高收益債券的信貸基本因素料將進一步改善。儘管2023年的違約率維持高企於12.5%(估計),遠高於歷史平均水平,但預計將於2024年顯著下降至10.3%7(見圖4)。

圖4:亞洲高收益債券歷史違約率(2003年至2024年(估計))8

整體而言,我們在2024年看好以下高收益債券領域:

  • 印度基建債券的宏觀經濟主題強勁,加上政府大力支持,因此具吸引力。印度經濟可說是亞洲區內最為強勁,當地政府已撥出1,200億美元用作下一財政年度的基建投資,因此帶動信貸狀況改善: 2023年上半年,印度約29%的信貸評級上調與基建業有關,比例為所有行業中最高。
  • 2023年初中國恢復通關後,澳門賭場的信貸基本因素強韌。儘管中國經濟增長步伐較預期緩慢,但澳門經濟持續復甦,黃金周期間旅客人數上升,令部份信貸獲評級上調。亞洲高收益債券領域當中,澳門博彩業亦存在估值吸引的機遇。整體而言,亞洲高收益債券市場在過去三年出現巨大變化,在地區及行業方面顯得更加多元化。
  • 在高收益債券領域內,中國房地產業所佔比例明顯較以前小(約佔5%)。除市場出現顯著折讓外,政府亦已將政策支持範圍由供應面(發展商)擴大至涵蓋需求面(消費者)。整體來說,在如今經濟不同範疇表現分歧的整固過程中,我們保持審慎樂觀,並嚴選發行人。

2024年利率:高收益債券市場的精選機遇

隨著聯儲局接近或處於緊縮周期的尾聲,我們預計2024年亞洲利率將面對有利環境。

整體而言,亞洲各國央行對聯儲局2023年加息的反應各不相同:通脹環境轉趨溫和,部份地區央行(如印度和印尼)並無跟隨聯儲局持續加息的步伐。

2024年聯儲局和其他全球央行可能暫停加息,加上地區通脹壓力消退,因此我們認為部份亞洲央行有潛在減息空間。

鑑於本年亞洲各國對通脹採取較溫和的策略9,亞洲本幣利率市場的表現普遍優於美國國庫債券,因此我們在2024年仍然看好三個高收益債券市場。

  • 印尼的名義孳息率具吸引力,10年期政府債券孳息率約為6.50%10。此外,我們認為印尼央行為捍衛當地貨幣而在10月將政策利率調高至6%後,將具有潛在減息空間。當地通脹率穩步下降,並維持於央行的4%目標範圍內11。此外,印尼的財政狀況逐步改善,雖然預計2023年和2024年的將出現財赤,但均低於2022年的2.35%。
  • 印度市場的基本因素在區內可算是最為強勁,10年期政府債券更提供約7.20%12的吸引孳息率。經濟增長依然強勁,第三季國內生產總值按年增長7.6%,為區內最出色,且通脹已經降溫,貿易和經常帳赤字亦趨於穩定。

    此外,當地債券有望獲進一步納入環球指數應可惠及市場表現:摩根大通新興市場政府債券指數系列將自今年6月起納入印度政府債券,彭博巴克萊和富時亦考慮在2024年納入印度債券。
  • 最後,鑑於菲律賓市場較為波動,其提供相對具吸引力的估值機遇。當地利率環境向來都對聯儲局行動較為敏感,因此若聯儲局暫停當前的加息周期,菲律賓可能較其他地區市場更能受惠。

2024年貨幣:印尼盾和韓圜預計將成亮點

美元在2023年持續波動,美匯指數初期因息差較高而走強,但至年底大致平收。亞洲貨幣在2023年表現好淡紛呈,只有部份市場貨幣兌美元上漲(見圖5)。

圖5:亞洲貨幣兌美元的表現13

我們認為,若聯儲局發出停止加息周期的訊號,將可在2024年為亞洲貨幣帶來廣泛支持。我們對兩種貨幣感到特別樂觀:

  • 鑑於環球利率環境改善,加上投資組合和外國直接投資的潛在增長,印尼盾有望在2024年進一步靠穩和取得更佳表現。外國投資者目前持有的未償還政府債券少於15%,但在2020年爆發疫情前這比率接近40%。隨著孳息率提高和貨幣企穩,外國投資者所持比例或會增加。印尼逐步建立生產電動車電池和其他高科技產品的本土生態系統,帶動外國直接投資亦加快增長。
  • 韓圜在2023年年底反彈後,料將繼續表現向好。半導體需求的低谷過後,10月份出口為13個月以來首次錄得按年增長。預計短期內半導體和人工智能相關產品的需求將會上升,因此韓國出口有望持續向好,在新一年帶動經常帳實現盈餘。

總結

聯儲局開始加息18個月和中國房地產業進一步整合後,亞洲固定收益在2023年回升至正區間,並在2024年展現初步復甦跡象。

聯儲局政策立場轉趨寬鬆、地區和企業經濟表現強勁,加上信貸基本因素強韌,亞洲固定收益升勢可望在2024年延續。我們認為,隨著聯儲局越趨接近結束貨幣緊縮周期,而且中國房地產業觸底反彈,亞洲債券市場表現將有望大幅領先全球。

然而,市場暫時很可能仍會繼續波動。除了通脹和貨幣政策轉變的潛在風險外,亞洲區內多地(包括印度、印尼、台灣和南韓)今年均會舉行重要選舉,美國亦將舉行大選。

由於利率上升可能使經濟活動放緩,預期信貸市場仍會面對挑戰,因此「由下而上」的信貸分析仍然重要。此外,鑑於基本因素穩健,個別利率市場和貨幣均可能帶來貢獻。

 

下載全份文件

 


 

1 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。 亞洲固定收益 = 摩根大通亞洲信貸指數(JACICOTR);新興市場固定收益 = 摩根大通新興市場當地貨幣債券指數(JGENVUUG);環球固定收益 = 彭博環球綜合債券指數(LEGATRUU)。以2019年1月為100。

2 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。JACIIGBS。

3 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。摩根大通亞洲投資級別企業債券指數(JACIIGTR)。

4 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。JACINGTR。

5 資料來源:摩根大通,截至2023年12月29日。

6 資料來源:摩根大通,截至2023年11月15日。

7 資料來源:高盛,2023年11月24日。

8 資料來源:高盛,2023年11月。

9 彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。.

10 彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。

11 印尼央行網站。

12 彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。

13 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2023年12月31日。

  • 2024年前景展望系列:環球康健護理股票

    對股票市場來說,2023年無疑是動盪的一年,尤其是康健護理業。我們對2024年康健護理股票的表現,以及相關分類行業的重要主題仍相當樂觀。

    閱讀更多
  • 資產配置展望:審慎前行

    若干主要經濟和市場主題在2023年出現變化,最值得注意的是,全球經濟環境比大多數市場參與者所預期的更為強韌。隨著2024年展開,我們探討一些將影響資產配置展望的主題。

    閱讀更多
  • 隨著利率和存款成本趨勢改變,美國地區銀行的2024年前景較為樂觀

    鑑於利率似乎已經見頂,加上貸款機構的存款成本下降,因此,2024年美國地區銀行的營商環境可能遠優於2023年。 

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 2024年前景展望系列:環球康健護理股票

    對股票市場來說,2023年無疑是動盪的一年,尤其是康健護理業。我們對2024年康健護理股票的表現,以及相關分類行業的重要主題仍相當樂觀。

    閱讀更多
  • 資產配置展望:審慎前行

    若干主要經濟和市場主題在2023年出現變化,最值得注意的是,全球經濟環境比大多數市場參與者所預期的更為強韌。隨著2024年展開,我們探討一些將影響資產配置展望的主題。

    閱讀更多
  • 隨著利率和存款成本趨勢改變,美國地區銀行的2024年前景較為樂觀

    鑑於利率似乎已經見頂,加上貸款機構的存款成本下降,因此,2024年美國地區銀行的營商環境可能遠優於2023年。 

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認