Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

 

Volatility management is the key to navigating turbulent markets

31 July 2023

The Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) offers a range of investment tools, and employees with ambitious goals or the younger generation who are far from retirement tend to choose equity funds with higher potential returns and volatility1. Long-term investors are guided to eschew any short-term speculative impulses. Given that global equity markets have experienced multiple waves of volatility since 2008, it may be essential to consider adopting an "active yet defensive" approach that focuses on strengthening a portfolio’s risk controls, while pursuing of potential capital appreciation. This also applies to investors managing an asset-allocation strategy with a long investment horizon (up to 40 years) that centres around equity funds. 

 

So far this year, factors such as elevated global inflation, especially in developed markets, and ongoing central-bank rate hikes have led to market volatility. In addition, there have been investor concerns about a potential global recession that could impact corporate profits and trigger another wave of equity market turbulence.

Investors seeking to manage portfolio risk could consider constructing an investment portfolio with a lower volatility profile that aims to achieve relatively stable performance. This would reduce psychological pressure and limit the chances of making irrational trades. However, it is important to note that financial turbulence is a relative concept, and instead of avoiding equity funds, investors could consider those with a lower volatility profile.

Use standard deviation to compare equity volatility

Investors can utilise standard deviation data to gauge equity-market volatility. Standard deviation is a measure of an asset's risk profile. A lower value is generally considered better, as it indicates that the asset exhibits less volatility and relatively stable movements, which translates into lower investment risk and vice versa.

Returns and standard deviation – assessing five sample equity indices

Annualised returns

Volatilty indicator: Annualised standard deviation

Source: Manulife Asset Management, Morningstar, data as of 30 June 2023. Healthcare equities are represented by MSCI World Health Care Total Return Index (USD); global equities are represented by FTSE All-World Total Return Index (USD); Information Technology equities are represented by MSCI World Information Technology Total Return Index (USD); Hong Kong equities are represented by FTSE MPF Hong Kong Total Return Index (HKD); North American equities are represented by FTSE MPF North America Total Return Index (HKD). Returns are calculated based on the total return of the index and the trading currency. Past performance is not indicative of future returns. It is not possible to invest directly in an index.

 

We have compared five sample equity indices' volatility and return data over the past 5, 10, and 15 years2. Our findings are as follows:

  • The annualised standard deviations of healthcare equities were the lowest, ranging from 13.32% to 15.24%. These percentages are below those of global equities with relatively diversified geographical allocations. The annualised returns of healthcare equities during the observed periods remained above 10%, demonstrating relatively stable performance.
  • Volatility among single-market equities was relatively higher. For instance, Hong Kong equities exhibited the highest volatility, with an annualised standard deviation of 23.95% over the past five years. However, the annualised return for the same period was -4.57%, indicating a lack of growth alongside elevated volatility.
  • There are significant variations in volatility among sectoral equities. For instance, the standard deviations of information technology equities were approximately 5-7 percentage points higher than that of healthcare equities. However, information technology equities also exhibited the highest annualised returns among the five types of equities.

The data highlights that even within stock indices, there can be significant differences in standard deviation and returns. As such, diversification remains crucial to manage volatility. Presently, Hong Kong employees allocate almost 60% of their investments to local assets3, with Hong Kong equities comprising 58% of that portion. While this approach aligns with the investment principle of “not buying what you don't know”, excessive concentration in volatile assets can result in substantial fluctuations in portfolio values, particularly during market volatility.

 


 

1 Equity funds can be divided into single-market equity funds (such as Hong Kong Equity Fund), regional equity funds (such as North American Equity Fund), global equity funds (such as Global Equity Fund), index funds (such as Hang Seng Index Fund), and sectoral equity funds.

2 The above-mentioned stock index data is for illustration purposes only and does not represent the data of the relevant equity funds.

3 Hong Kong Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority, "Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Statistical Digest quarterly report," March 2023.

  • Your retirement withdrawal strategy—four tips for managing inflation

    When it is time to enjoy what you’ve always dreamed of doing, the retirement planning doesn’t end there. It’s important to regularly review your withdrawal strategy and make adjustments as needed to keep changing economic conditions from throwing you off track. Consider the four tips to help keep inflation from depleting your retirement savings sooner than you expected.

    Read more
  • Women’s retirement planning: Invest in your future self

    With longer average life spans, women are often more at risk of not meeting their retirement income targets. For better retirement, it is important to know the four critical factors which affect the shortfall risk: How long you’re likely to live, Start date for contributions, Contribution rate and Investment choices.

    Read more
  • Plan for retirement with inflation in mind

    To live comfortably in sliver age, your goal should not be merely to accumulate assets worth a nominal value. Inflation should also be considered to ensure an investment appreciates over the years, so its real purchasing power can satisfy your retirement needs.

    Read more
See all
  • Your retirement withdrawal strategy—four tips for managing inflation

    When it is time to enjoy what you’ve always dreamed of doing, the retirement planning doesn’t end there. It’s important to regularly review your withdrawal strategy and make adjustments as needed to keep changing economic conditions from throwing you off track. Consider the four tips to help keep inflation from depleting your retirement savings sooner than you expected.

    Read more
  • Women’s retirement planning: Invest in your future self

    With longer average life spans, women are often more at risk of not meeting their retirement income targets. For better retirement, it is important to know the four critical factors which affect the shortfall risk: How long you’re likely to live, Start date for contributions, Contribution rate and Investment choices.

    Read more
  • Plan for retirement with inflation in mind

    To live comfortably in sliver age, your goal should not be merely to accumulate assets worth a nominal value. Inflation should also be considered to ensure an investment appreciates over the years, so its real purchasing power can satisfy your retirement needs.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

 

波動市最緊要管理波幅

31/7/2023

強積金的投資工具有很多種,進取型的打工仔或距離退休尚遠的新生代,多會選擇潛在回報及波幅較高的股票基金1。常說長線投資不宜抱短炒心態,但環球股市自2008年起出現多次波動市況,對管理一個長投資期(最高長達40年)、以股票基金為主的資產配置策略,有需要考慮在追求潛在資本增值的同時,加強控制組合風險,實行「攻守兼備」。

 

環顧年初至今,環球(尤其是已發展市場)通脹高企、央行加息周期未完等因素導致市況波動。此外,市場憂慮環球經濟有機會出現衰退,可能對企業盈利產生影響,繼而帶來另一波的股市動盪。

此時若想及早控制組合風險,可考慮建立較低波幅的投資組合,以達致相對平穩的表現,一來可減輕心理壓力,二來減少作出不理性買賣的機會。而波幅的高與低,其實是一個相對的概念,投資者可在眾多的股票基金中,尋找波動性較低的選項,而非完全避免投資。

比較股票波幅高低 參考標準差數據

想比較股票波幅的高低,可參考標準差的數據。標準差是量度資產風險的指標,一般來說,數值愈低愈好。標準差愈低,代表相關資產的波動性較低,走勢相對較平穩,投資風險亦相應較低;反之亦然。

五隻比較股票指數的回報及標準差

年度化回報

波幅指標:年度化標準差

資料來源:宏利投資管理、Morningstar,數據截至2023年6月30日。康健護理股票以MSCI明晟發達市場醫療保健總回報指數(美元)代表;全球股票以富時全球總回報指數(美元)代表;科技股票以MSCI明晟發達市場資訊科技總回報指數(美元)代表;香港股票以富時強積金香港總回報指數(港元)代表;北美股票以富時強積金北美總回報指數(港元)代表。回報以指數總回報及交易貨幣計算。過往回報並不預示未來業績。投資者不能直接投資指數

 

我們比較五隻股票指數在過去5年、10年及15年的波幅及回報數據2,結果有以下發現:

  • 康健護理股票的年度化標準差最低,介乎13.32%至15.24%(甚至低於投資地區相對較分散的全球股票),期內年度化回報保持10%以上,表現相對平穩。
  • 單一市場股票的波幅較高。例如:香港股票的波幅最高,過去5年的年度化標準差達23.95%,惟期內錄得-4.57%年度化回報,可謂「有波幅,無升幅」。
  • 行業股票之間的波幅出現較大差異。例如:科技股票的年回報標準差較康健護理股票高出約5至7個百分點,但其年度化回報在五類股票中稱冠。

上述數據所見,同樣是股票指數,其標準差及回報差異頗大,要有效管理波幅,還需要分散投資。目前香港打工仔將近六成資金買入本地相關資產3,香港股票佔當中的58%,做法雖切合「不熟不買」的投資原則,但過度集中於高波幅資產,會導致組合價值出現較大上落,在波動市況下,情況則更為明顯。

 


 

1 股票基金可分為單一地方股票基金(如香港股票基金)、地區性股票基金(如北美股票基金)、全球股票基金(環球股票基金)、指數基金(如恒生指數基金)及行業股票基金。

2 以上提及的股票指數數據,僅作說明之用,並非代表相關股票基金的數據。

3 香港積金局《強制性公積金計劃統計摘要》季刊,2023年3月。

  • 提取退休收益的策略:應對通脹的四個實用貼士

    即使從工作崗位退下來,退休規劃其實仍未能劃上休止符。您必須定期審視提取策略及作出相應的調整,以防不斷變化的經濟情況令您大失預算。即睇四個實用貼士,避免您的退休儲蓄被通脹蠶食而提前耗盡。

    閱讀更多
  • 女性退休規劃:投資個人未來

    由於女性平均壽命較長,無法實現退休收入目標的風險通常較高。要作好退休規劃,女性必需了解影響退休儲備缺口風險的四大關係因素:預期壽命、開始供款日期、供款率及投資選擇。

    閱讀更多
  • 部署退休 兼顧通脹因素

    要安享晩年,追求的目標不僅是資產總值這個帳面數,還要計及通脹的因素,確保儲蓄經長年累月投資增值後,實質購買力足以應付退休所需。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 提取退休收益的策略:應對通脹的四個實用貼士

    即使從工作崗位退下來,退休規劃其實仍未能劃上休止符。您必須定期審視提取策略及作出相應的調整,以防不斷變化的經濟情況令您大失預算。即睇四個實用貼士,避免您的退休儲蓄被通脹蠶食而提前耗盡。

    閱讀更多
  • 女性退休規劃:投資個人未來

    由於女性平均壽命較長,無法實現退休收入目標的風險通常較高。要作好退休規劃,女性必需了解影響退休儲備缺口風險的四大關係因素:預期壽命、開始供款日期、供款率及投資選擇。

    閱讀更多
  • 部署退休 兼顧通脹因素

    要安享晩年,追求的目標不僅是資產總值這個帳面數,還要計及通脹的因素,確保儲蓄經長年累月投資增值後,實質購買力足以應付退休所需。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認