Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Make good use of lower-risk funds to navigate market volatility

8September 2023

What would you do if you got caught in a sudden storm but didn’t have an umbrella? Naturally, your immediate reaction would be to seek temporary shelter. Similarly, when confronted with investment market volatility,1 employees may try to navigate the turbulent conditions by transferring their Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) contributions to lower-risk funds.

However, it is important to note that these lower-risk funds may exhibit significantly different characteristics and returns compared to the investor’s current funds. Moreover, it is crucial to adopt a strategic approach. After a brief “risk off” period, investors should consider a timely reallocation of their assets to other fund options that align with their risk tolerance levels.

Conservative Fund

Given current market conditions, there are three possible reasons why an employee would allocate a more significant portion of their MPF contributions to the Money Market Fund - MPF Conservative Fund- that carries lower risk:

1. The current market volatility has surpassed the risk tolerance level of the investor. Therefore, the investor may allocate a portion of their accrued benefits and/or new contributions to low-risk funds as a “short-term refuge” to reduce overall portfolio volatility.

2. The investment outlook and long-term trends for the assets held by the investor suddenly change or deviate from the original investment objectives and their risk tolerance. In that case, the investor may sell the relevant investments and switch to lower-risk funds until other suitable investment options become available for portfolio rebalancing. However, it is essential to remember that short-term market volatility does not reflect the investment outlook and long-term trends. It should not undermine the individual's long-term investment goals. Click here for more details.

3. The investor plans to switch funds. Unlike regular monthly contributions, fund switching represents a lump-sum investment and does not benefit from the advantages of dollar-cost averaging. The returns will depend on the buying and selling prices at the time of the switching. The investor will also face higher risks during volatile markets, or when the amount involved in the fund switch is significant/ represents a higher proportion of the portfolio value.

While conservative funds do not guarantee capital preservation, they typically invest in low-risk assets denominated in Hong Kong dollars, such as Hong Kong dollar bank deposits and Hong Kong dollar bonds. Consequently, these funds exhibit lower potential volatility (and returns).

The size of the MPF Conservative Fund has been increasing over the past year2

Guaranteed Fund

Investor attention may also be drawn to another fund type known as the Guaranteed Fund, which, like the Conservative Fund, is a lower-risk option. However, the Guaranteed Fund typically incorporates mechanisms that ensure the preservation of the principal and/or provide minimum returns, such as interest. Certain funds offer unconditional guarantees that allow investors to receive the guaranteed principal and/or interest. The interest earned (after deducting fees) depends on the investment duration.

It is important to note that some guaranteed funds come with particular conditions. For instance, investors may be required to maintain the investment for an explicit period or until they reach a specific withdrawal age. These funds are suitable for certain groups, such as pre-retirees who aim to lock in their accrued benefits at a set level. If you intend to temporarily park your funds for a few months or even weeks, selecting an unconditional guaranteed fund that aligns with your objectives is crucial. Opting for a guaranteed fund with conditions may mean you cannot access the guaranteed principal or returns and could even involve higher-than-expected risks (as some funds may invest in stocks with greater volatility).

In the face of sudden market volatility, it is understandable for investors to seek refuge in lower-risk assets as a short-term parking place for their assets. However, they should remember that "storms won't last forever." These safe havens are typically intended as temporary shelters, and the initial goal of "short-term parking" should not be transformed into "long-term parking". Holding too many lower-risk assets for an extended period is not ideal unless the investor approaches retirement age and plans to withdraw funds at age 65, gradually transitioning away from higher-risk assets. This caution is because such assets offer lower capital returns and may not meet the growth requirements of a Mandatory Provident Fund portfolio with a long-term investment horizon spanning 40 years.

As shown in the table below, since the establishment of the Mandatory Provident Fund in 2000, the annualised net returns of the Money Market Fund - MPF Conservative Fund and the Guaranteed Fund have been only 0.7% and 0.9%, respectively. These returns are lower than the 4% return of the Equity Fund and the 3.7% return of the Mixed Assets Fund. They also fell behind the 1.8% inflation rate during the same period.3

The Conservative Fund and the Guaranteed Fund have consistently underperformed inflation3

 

Read more: 3 FAQs amid volatile market

 

 


 

Since March of last year, the US Federal Reserve has initiated the rate hike cycle, resulting in a cumulative increase of 5.25 percentage points so far. During this period, global financial markets have experienced intermittent volatility. In addition to the ongoing interest rate hikes, various factors have triggered market volatility, including geopolitical developments, evolving market expectations regarding the economic outlook, unforeseen statements from global financial officials, and company specific events that impact investor perceptions of specific industries and their future prospects.

Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Statistical Digest Quarterly Report March 2023 – published by the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA). Data as of 31 March 2023. The net asset value of the Money Market Fund - MPF Conservative Fund was HKD 120.226 billion, higher than the Guaranteed Fund (another lower-risk fund) which had a net asset value of HKD 79.588 billion.

Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Statistical Digest Quarterly Report March 2023 – published by the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA). Data as of 31 March 2023. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.

 

  • Your retirement withdrawal strategy—four tips for managing inflation

    When it is time to enjoy what you’ve always dreamed of doing, the retirement planning doesn’t end there. It’s important to regularly review your withdrawal strategy and make adjustments as needed to keep changing economic conditions from throwing you off track. Consider the four tips to help keep inflation from depleting your retirement savings sooner than you expected.

    Read more
  • Women’s retirement planning: Invest in your future self

    With longer average life spans, women are often more at risk of not meeting their retirement income targets. For better retirement, it is important to know the four critical factors which affect the shortfall risk: How long you’re likely to live, Start date for contributions, Contribution rate and Investment choices.

    Read more
  • Plan for retirement with inflation in mind

    To live comfortably in sliver age, your goal should not be merely to accumulate assets worth a nominal value. Inflation should also be considered to ensure an investment appreciates over the years, so its real purchasing power can satisfy your retirement needs.

    Read more
See all
  • Your retirement withdrawal strategy—four tips for managing inflation

    When it is time to enjoy what you’ve always dreamed of doing, the retirement planning doesn’t end there. It’s important to regularly review your withdrawal strategy and make adjustments as needed to keep changing economic conditions from throwing you off track. Consider the four tips to help keep inflation from depleting your retirement savings sooner than you expected.

    read more
  • Women’s retirement planning: Invest in your future self

    With longer average life spans, women are often more at risk of not meeting their retirement income targets. For better retirement, it is important to know the four critical factors which affect the shortfall risk: How long you’re likely to live, Start date for contributions, Contribution rate and Investment choices.

    read more
  • Plan for retirement with inflation in mind

    To live comfortably in sliver age, your goal should not be merely to accumulate assets worth a nominal value. Inflation should also be considered to ensure an investment appreciates over the years, so its real purchasing power can satisfy your retirement needs.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

天氣不似預期   善用較低風險基金   應對波動市

8/9/2023

外出期間突然遇上狂風暴雨,沒有帶雨具的你會怎麼辦?當然是立即跑到室內暫避。同樣地,投資市場若出現波動市況1,打工仔或考慮選擇將強積金供款轉至較低風險的基金,實行「避風頭(避險)」。但要留意的是,這類較低風險基金的特性及回報,可能與投資者現時持有的基金截然不同。此外,策略上亦要知所進退,在短暫避險過後,適時將資金轉至切合本身風險承受能力的基金選項。

保守基金

從打工仔的個人層面出發,在目前市況下,選擇將較多供款放於貨幣市場基金──強積金保守基金(MPF Conservative Fund)2這類較低風險基金,可能有以下三種考慮:

1. 目前市況波幅已超出投資者可接受的程度,故將部份累算權益及/或新增供款買入低風險基金,作為短期資金避難所,並減低整體投資組合的波幅

2. 投資者已持有資產的投資前景及長線趨勢突然有變,偏離原來的投資目標及風險承受能力,投資者先沽出有關投資,轉至較低風險基金,直至有其他合適的投資選項出現時,再進行組合重整。但要緊記,短期市況波動並不反映投資前景及長線趨勢,亦不應該動搖個人長線投資的目標,見另文

3. 投資者計劃轉換基金。有別於每月供款,轉換基金屬於一筆過投資,不能享受平均成本法的好處,回報高低便取決於轉換時的買賣價。在市況波動時,又或轉換基金牽涉的金額龐大/佔組合價值比例較高時,投資者承受的風險便較高。

 

雖然保守基金並不保本,但組合所投資的是港元低風險資產(港元銀行存款及港元債券),潛在波幅(回報)相對亦較低。

強積金保守基金的資產規模於過去一年持續增加2

 

保證基金

另一種較多供款人留意的基金是保證基金。與保本基金一樣,保證基金雖同屬低風險基金,但它一般設有本金及/或最低回報(如利息)保證機制。部份為無條件基金,投資者可獲本金及/或利息保證,收取的利息(扣除費用後)視乎投資期長短而定;請留意,部份保證基金則設有附帶條件,例如投資者需持有一定年期或達到指定提取年齡,適合特定情況的群組,如臨近退休、有意鎖定累算權益於一定水平的人士。假如閣下只計劃作數個月、甚至數星期的資金「短泊」,便要「泊啱碼頭」,選擇無條件保證基金。一旦選錯有條件保證基金,不僅未能取得本金或回報保證,還可能需承擔較預期高的風險(個別基金更會投資於波幅較高的股票資產)。

面對市場波幅突變,投資者尋找低風險資產「短泊」屬無可厚非,但「風雨不會沒了期」,這些避風港一般只作臨時棲身之所,不宜由「短泊」變「長泊」,也不宜長期持有太多風險較低的資產(除非供款人臨近退休年齡,並於65歲時有需要提取資金,現階段打算逐步將高風險資產沽出)。原因是這類資產提供的資本收益較低,未能切合一個長達40年投資期的強積金組合的增長需要。

事實上,從下表可見,自強積金2000年成立以來,貨幣市場基金──強積金保守基金及保證基金的年率化淨回報分別只有0.7%及0.9%,低於股票基金及混合資產基金的4%及3.7%回報,並跑輸同期1.8%的通脹3

保守及保證基金持續跑輸通脹3

 

閱讀更多:波動市況下的三個常見疑問

 

 


 

美國聯儲局自去年3月起展開加息周期,至今累積加幅5.25厘 ,期間環球金融市場不時出現波動。除了息率持續上升外,導致市場波動的原因還包括地緣政治的演變、市場改變對經濟前景的預期、環球財金官員發表預期之外的言論、個別公司事件影響投資者對個別行業前景等因素影響。

香港積金局《強制性公積金計劃統計摘要》季刊,2023年3月。截至2023年3月31日,貨幣市場基金──強積金保守基金的淨資產值為1202.26億元,高於保證基金(另一較低風險基金)的795.88億元。

香港積金局《強制性公積金計劃統計摘要》季刊,2023年3月。數據截至2023年3月31日。過往回報並不預示未來業績。

  • 大選後:印度前路何去何從?

    我們分析近期關鍵選舉的影響,並制定路線圖,透過「5Ds」框架說明這可能會如何影響印度的經濟發展及投資機會。

    閱讀更多
  • 聯儲局可能暫緩減息,這對固定收益投資者有何影響?

    自年初以來,市場對美國貨幣政策的預期急速逆轉,由於通脹情況可能比預期更持久。今年減息次數的預期亦大幅減少。我們仍然看好美國優質的中期固定收益,相信可為投資者提供吸引的投資機會,本文將剖析箇中原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 提取退休收益的策略:應對通脹的四個實用貼士

    即使從工作崗位退下來,退休規劃其實仍未能劃上休止符。您必須定期審視提取策略及作出相應的調整,以防不斷變化的經濟情況令您大失預算。即睇四個實用貼士,避免您的退休儲蓄被通脹蠶食而提前耗盡。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 提取退休收益的策略:應對通脹的四個實用貼士

    即使從工作崗位退下來,退休規劃其實仍未能劃上休止符。您必須定期審視提取策略及作出相應的調整,以防不斷變化的經濟情況令您大失預算。即睇四個實用貼士,避免您的退休儲蓄被通脹蠶食而提前耗盡。

    閱讀更多
  • 女性退休規劃:投資個人未來

    由於女性平均壽命較長,無法實現退休收入目標的風險通常較高。要作好退休規劃,女性必需了解影響退休儲備缺口風險的四大關係因素:預期壽命、開始供款日期、供款率及投資選擇。

    閱讀更多
  • 部署退休 兼顧通脹因素

    要安享晩年,追求的目標不僅是資產總值這個帳面數,還要計及通脹的因素,確保儲蓄經長年累月投資增值後,實質購買力足以應付退休所需。

    閱讀更多
查看全部