Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

18 January 2024

Hong Kong and China equities retreated yesterday amid mixed macro data, potential sanctions risk and lingering property-market concerns from mainland China. Despite the market drop, our Greater China Equities team believes that the Q4 2023 gross domestic product (GDP) growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Regarding the property market, significant policy measures introduced since August 2023 have been underappreciated. Heading into 2024, economic stability remains the central government’s top priority. The team believes that mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.

 

The Hang Seng Index dropped by 3.7% on 17 January 2024. We attribute the pullback to the following reasons:

1) Weaker-than-expected Q4 GDP growth data: Mainland China’s Q4 2023 GDP grew by 5.2% year-on-year, slightly missing the expected 5.3% year-on-year expansion.

2) Mixed macro data: Mainland China’s retail sales growth missed expectations in December. On the other hand, the latest industrial output and fixed-asset investment (FAI) data both reported higher-than-anticipated year-on-year growth, with the former recording the fastest increase in nearly two years.

3) Potential sanctions risk: On 12 January 2024, a leading mainland China technology, media and telecom (TMT) company’s artificial intelligence (A.I) chatbot was reportedly used by a university affiliated with the mainland Chinese military to test A.I.

4) Lingering property concerns: According to National Bureau Statistics, national new home sales volume/value declined by 16%/20% year-on-year in December 2023, while national average selling price (ASP) was down by 5% year-on-year in December 2023.1

Our views

  • The market has largely priced in the GDP growth trend for Q4 2023. In fact, Q4 GDP growth accelerated from Q3 2023 (+4.9% year-on-year), improving by 1.0% sequentially. Also, full-year GDP growth reached 5.2% year-on-year, slightly above the central government’s target of around 5% year-on-year.
  • The market neglected some bright spots among December’s mixed macroeconomic data. For instance, the Caixin manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) survey hit a better-than-expected 50.8, remaining in expansionary territory for a second consecutive month. Exports expanded by 2.3% year-on-year vs. a 0.5% increase in November. Despite retail sales missing expectations, industrial production gained strength.
  • Regarding the property market, the significant policy measures introduced by the central government have been under-appreciated:

•  Starting from August 2023, more property easing policies have been rolled out. The central government cut the nationwide down payment rate for the first time in years on 31 August 2023.

•  Since November 2023, there have been obvious signs that the central government is stepping up its support for developers’ financing.

•  The scope of the relaxations has been broadened to tier-1 cities where the central government had been reluctant to ease policies in past cycles.

•  In December 2023, the People’s Bank of China (PBOC) resumed its pledged supplemental lending (PSL) facility to inject 350 billion renminbi into the three major policy banks. This marks the third-highest monthly injection in the history of this programme.

•  On 16 January 2024, mainland China reportedly considered one trillion renminbi (US$139 billion) of new debt issuance under a special sovereign bond plan2, only the fourth such sale in the past 26 years, as the authorities intensified their efforts to shore up the economy.

• According to Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development (MOHURD), China’s primary and secondary home transactions in total registered positive year-on-year growth for the January to November 2023 period, in contrast to the pessimistic comments in the market. Some early signs of stabilisation in the real estate market are observed.

  • For 2024, mainland China has reiterated that economic stability is a top priority.

•  Apart from technological innovation, the Central Economic Work Conference (CEWC) outlined several key areas of focus for mainland China’s economic strategy in 2024, including:

•  Boosting domestic demand

•  Reform initiatives

•  High-level opening

•  Financial sector stability

Conclusion

In conclusion, better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy. The Greater China Equities team believes that mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e. the “4As”) remain intact going into 2024:

1) Acceleration: Consumption may further improve with mainland China’s pro-growth policy stance.

2) Abroad: Leading mainland Chinese companies are going abroad – another growth engine!

3) Advancement: The AI supply chain in Greater China (especially the Taiwan Region) should continue to see robust growth in 2024.

4) Automation: Mainland China’s aged population should trigger greater demand for automation.

 

Download full PDF

 


 

National Bureau Statistics of China, Manulife Investment Management, January 2024.

China Weighs $139 Billion Sovereign Bond Sale to Boost Economy - Bloomberg, 16 January 2024.

  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    Read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    Read more
  • Transitioning to India’s next stage of growth

    India’s growth agenda are well embedding the primary driver of digitisation that supports the formalisation and reinvestment policies underpinning manufacturing expansion. This is starting to show results with visibly improved capital expenditure and industrial order books, as well as a narrowing current-account deficit and a healthier inflationary picture.

    Read more
See all
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    read more
  • Transitioning to India’s next stage of growth

    India’s growth agenda are well embedding the primary driver of digitisation that supports the formalisation and reinvestment policies underpinning manufacturing expansion. This is starting to show results with visibly improved capital expenditure and industrial order books, as well as a narrowing current-account deficit and a healthier inflationary picture.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

中港股市最新動態

18/1/2024

香港及中國內地股票市場昨日顯著回落,主要是由於中國內地的宏觀數據好淡紛呈、個別公司的潛在制裁風險,以及揮之不去的內房問題所致。儘管市場下跌,但我們的大中華股票團隊認為,香港恒生指數已反映2023年第四季的國內生產總值增長趨勢,而且投資者忽略了一些亮點。房地產市場方面,自2023年8月以來中國政府推出的多項重磅政策亦被低估。踏入2024年,穩增長仍然是中央政府的首要任務。團隊認為,中國內地的四大主要增長動力(即「4A」)維持不變,去庫存的進展優於預期,加上更多政策措施出台,意味著經濟可望見底。

 

香港恒生指數在2024年1月17日下跌3.7%,我們認為主要是由以下因素所致:

1) 第四季國內生產總值增長數據略低於預期:中國內地2023年第四季的國內生產總值按年增長5.2%,略低於市場預期的5.3%。

2) 宏觀經濟數據好淡紛呈:中國內地12月的零售銷售增長低於預期。儘管如此,12月公布的工業生產及固定資產投資的按年增長數據均高於預期,前者更創下近兩年來的最大增幅。

3) 潛在制裁風險:2024年1月12日,有報道指中國內地一家科技、媒體及電訊公司龍頭企業的人工智能聊天機器人被內地軍方附屬大學用作人工智能測試。

4) 揮之不去的內房問題:根據中國國家統計局,在2023年12月,全國一手樓銷量/銷售分別按年跌16%/20%,全國平均樓價按年跌5%1

我們的觀點

  • 市場基本已反映2023年第四季的國內生產總值增長趨勢。事實上,2023年第四季的國內生產總值增長較第三季有所提升(按年增長4.9%),按季增長1.0%。此外,全年國內生產總值增長達5.2%,略高於中央政府的目標(約5%)。
  • 12月的宏觀經濟數據好淡紛呈,市場忽略了其中一些亮點。例如,財新製造業採購經理指數表現優於預期,達50.8,連續第二個月保持在擴張區間。出口按年增長2.3%,而11月的增幅只有0.5%。儘管零售銷售低於預期,但工業生產轉強。
  • 房地產市場方面,中央政府推出的重大政策措施被市場低估:

· 自2023年8月開始,政府陸續加推房地產寬鬆政策。2023年8月31日,中央政府在全國範圍內下調首期比率,是多年來的首次。

· 自2023年11月以來,中央政府明顯加大支持開發商融資的力度。

· 放寬政策的範圍已擴大至一線城市。在過去多個周期,中央政府一直不願放寬一線城市的房策。

· 在2023年12月,中國人民銀行(人行)恢復抵押補充貸款(PSL),向三大主要政策性銀行投放3,500億元人民幣,為PSL歷史單月投放規模第三高。

· 在2024年1月16日,據報道,中國內地考慮在今年內發行1萬億元人民幣(1,390億美元)的超長期特別國債2,僅為過去26年來的第四次同類發行,可見政府致力加大支持經濟的力度。

· 根據內地住建部數據,2023年首11個月,中國內地一、二手住宅交易總量按年錄得正增長,與市場悲觀情緒形成對比。此外,房市企穩的早前跡象已經顯現。

  • 在2024年,中國內地重申穩增長為其首要任務。

· 中央經濟工作會議強調內地2024年經濟工作的重點,除科技創新外,包括:

· 擴大國內需求

· 深化改革

· 高水平對外開放

· 金融穩定

總結

總括而言,去庫存進展於預期及更多政策措施出台,意味著經濟可望見底。大中華股票團隊相信踏入2024年,中國內地的四大主要增長動力(即「4A」)將維持不變:

1) 加速(Acceleration):在中國內地的穩增長政策措施下,消費可望進一步改善。

2) 走出去(Abroad):中國內地龍頭企業正走向國外 — 另一個增長引擎!

3) 發展(Advancement):展望2024年,預料大中華區(尤其是台灣地區)人工智能供應鏈應繼續強勁增長。

4) 自動化(Automation):中國內地人口呈現老齡化,應可令自動化需求增加。

 

下載全份文件

 


 

中國國家統計局、宏利投資管理,2024年1月。

中國考慮發行1,390億美元國債以提振經濟彭博資訊,2024年1月16日。

  • 指數納入印度債券:吸引外資並鞏固區內優勢

    印度政府債券被摩根大通納入旗下新興市場政府債券指數的全球指數系列,我們探討此重大決定對印度債市的短期和長期影響。

    閱讀更多
  • 印度獲納入指數將推動當地 邁向下一個增長階段的進程

    印度即將獲納入摩根大通新興市場政府債券指數,我們剖析將如何帶動全球資金流入當地市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 印度:邁向下一個增長階段

    數碼化為推動製造業擴張的經濟正規化及再投資政策提供支持,其主要動力已紮根於印度經濟增長議程之中。有關成效已開始浮現:資本開支和工業訂單明顯改善、經常帳赤字收窄,通脹狀況亦轉趨穩健。 

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 指數納入印度債券:吸引外資並鞏固區內優勢

    印度政府債券被摩根大通納入旗下新興市場政府債券指數的全球指數系列,我們探討此重大決定對印度債市的短期和長期影響。

    閱讀更多
  • 印度獲納入指數將推動當地 邁向下一個增長階段的進程

    印度即將獲納入摩根大通新興市場政府債券指數,我們剖析將如何帶動全球資金流入當地市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 印度:邁向下一個增長階段

    數碼化為推動製造業擴張的經濟正規化及再投資政策提供支持,其主要動力已紮根於印度經濟增長議程之中。有關成效已開始浮現:資本開支和工業訂單明顯改善、經常帳赤字收窄,通脹狀況亦轉趨穩健。 

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認