Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Assessing the contagion risk from ongoing banking concerns to Asia

21 March 2023

Sue Trinh, Co-Head of Macro Strategy, Multi-Asset Solutions Team

Trouble in the U.S. and European banking sectors has raised concerns that we could be seeing the start of another financial crisis. To what extent will this affect Asia and the continent’s growth prospects?  Sue Trinh, Co-Head, Global Macro Strategy of Multi-Asset Solutions Team, highlights her thoughts.

 

 

Authorities on both sides of the Atlantic wasted no time in moving promptly and decisively in the hope that their actions will restore market confidence. Despite their best efforts, investors’ nerves remain frayed.

Enormous uncertainties continue to weigh on sentiment as markets worry about the health of banking sectors, the potential economic fallout arising from last week’s events, and implications for central banks—most of which are still trying to tame inflation. We consider possible channels through which contagion might be transmitted to Asia.

Direct exposure to failed/ailing banks remains low, but…

At this time, exposure appears to be limited. While several companies within Asia’s venture capital and tech start-up sectors have exposure to these banks, they appear to be small in scale and few have openly admitted to seeing major losses.

If problems in the U.S. and European banking systems were to become more acute and investor risk aversion to spike, it’s fair to say that Asian economies with large current account deficits—and therefore are reliant on foreign capital flows—will be most affected.

In general, we think current account deficits in Asia are benign, with the exception of New Zealand, the Philippines, and Thailand (deficits in these economies exceed 3% of GDP¹). Although there are signs of strain, most measures remain far below crisis levels. Many Asian currencies have actually appreciated against the U.S. dollar (USD)¹ since the banking issues came to light.

Domestic credit conditions are likely to tighten

Financial conditions have tightened since March 9, although conditions remain looser than they were in the middle of last year¹; however, lower confidence and greater risk aversion among domestic banks could result in weaker lending growth.

More broadly, tighter credit conditions and slower global economic growth will likely increase the risk of nonperforming loans. Understandably, the most exposed economies in the region would be those that have experienced sharp increases in interest rates and a significant rise in debt servicing costs—South Korea, for instance, could be a concern here.

Economies with many financial institutions with low regulatory capital could be left more vulnerable than others, and India could be a candidate in this regard.

Tighter global financial conditions could also weigh on Asian exports as demand weakens. Economies that are particularly dependent on trade with the United States and the eurozone would be most affected; Vietnam, Malaysia, and Taiwan would fall into this category.

What does this mean for domestic monetary policy in Asia?

In our view, there are several scenarios for monetary policy paths in the region.

1 Business as usual—In the past year, Asian central banks have formulated their approach to monetary policy based on domestic inflation developments to a much greater extent than the U.S. Federal Reserve during this rate-hike cycle. In this regard, many central banks in the region have already made a dovish pivot—for example, Thailand and Vietnam. The Philippines and India, however, have suffered setbacks in their fight against inflation recently. As a result, we believe the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) are biased toward further tightening at their next meeting.

2 The banking sector fallout prompts a lower policy path—In this scenario, we expect the RBI and BSP to tread more cautiously and could potentially end their rate-hike cycles sooner than they had meant to.

3 Strains in the financial sector get worse, funding costs and USD spike—If this were to happen, some central banks in the region may be forced to hike further than otherwise would be the case to support their currencies. This is primarily a risk for those economies that have limited foreign currency reserves and are, as a result, highly dependent on foreign capital flows. Thailand, the Philippines, India, Indonesia, and Malaysia have become increasingly concerning in this regard.

Unrealized bond losses on the portfolio—could that affect banks in Asia?

Theoretically, the same problem that caused the collapse of a tech-focused lender in the United States recently could surface in Asia’s banking sectors too; however, just because something could happen doesn’t mean it will. In our view, it’s more of a wildcard.

Crucially, potential contagion to Asian banks emanating from this episode seems limited: Banks in the region are well capitalized and direct exposures are small in scale. In addition, liquidity coverage ratios are high and deposit bases also tend to be stickier. It's also worth noting that corporate deposits are well diversified across industries.

In our view, direct contagion from the recent banking scare to Asia is largely limited, to the extent that financial and macro stability positions of economies in the region are generally more robust than previous crises. Far more important to the Asian regional outlook is the event’s impact on global growth, USD funding conditions, and USD strength. If the global economy manages to avoid a hard landing, and USD funding costs remain low (with the USD staying below its 2022 peak), Asia should be able to weather the storm.

 

Download full PDF

 


1. Bloomberg, as of 17 March 2023.

  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    Read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    Read more
  • Index inclusion reinforces India’s transition to its next stage of growth

    We explain how India’s impending inclusion in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index- Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) index should lead to an increase in global inflows.

    Read more
See all
  • Five timeless principles for investing success

    While investing in volatile times can sometimes challenge your discipline and commitment, there are five timeless principles to include in your investment strategy that can help ease your mind and keep you focused on the long term.

    Read more
  • Hong Kong/Mainland China market update

    Despite the market fall, we believe that the China Q4 2023 GDP growth trend has already been priced into the index, with some bright spots being neglected. Mainland China’s four mega trends (i.e., the “4As”) remain intact as better-than-expected inventory destocking and increased policy measures suggest a potential bottoming of the economy.  

    Read more
  • India’s bond index inclusion: Attracting foreign investment; bolstering its regional position

    Indian government bonds would be included in the JPMorgan Government Bond Index-Emerging Markets (GBI-EM) Global index suite starting in June 2024. We examine the short- and long-term implications of this significant decision for the Indian bond market.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

評估銀行業隱憂對亞洲區的擴散風險

21/03/2023

多元資產團隊環球宏觀策略聯席主管 Sue Trinh

歐美銀行業面臨困境,令人憂慮另一場金融危機可能一觸即發。這對亞洲及區內增長前景將會造成甚麼程度的影響?多元資產團隊環球宏觀策略聯席主管Sue Trinh在本文提出她的主要觀點。

 

 

歐美當局均迅速採取果斷行動,冀能恢復市場信心。但即使當局已竭盡所能,投資者仍忐忑不安。

眾多不明朗因素揮之不去,令市場信心受壓:投資者憂慮銀行業的穩健程度,上周的市場事件可能造成的經濟衝擊,以及其對央行政策的影響。事實上,目前大部份央行仍致力遏抑通脹。我們在本文剖析有關風險可能擴散至亞洲的途徑。

受已倒閉/面臨困境的銀行直接影響的風險仍低

目前來看,相關風險有限。雖然數家亞洲創投及科技初創公司受該等銀行的事件影響,但看來風險不大,而且甚少企業公開承認錄得重大虧損。

若歐美銀行體系的問題越演越烈,導致投資者的避險意欲飆升,平心而論,最受影響的將會是經常帳赤字龐大、因而依賴外國資金的亞洲經濟體。

整體來說,除了紐西蘭、菲律賓和泰國外(赤字佔其國內生產總值高於3%1),我們認為亞洲的經常帳赤字溫和。雖然目前出現一些壓力跡象,但大部份指標仍遠低於危機水平。自從歐美銀行業問題曝光以來,許多亞洲貨幣兌美元實際上有所升值1。  

本地信貸狀況可能收緊

自3月9日以來,金融狀況已經收緊,但與去年年中比較仍相對寬鬆1;然而,當地銀行的信心減弱及避險意欲上升,可能導致貸款增長放緩。

從更廣泛的角度來評論,信貸狀況趨緊和環球經濟增長減慢,很可能會增加不良貸款的風險。誠然,最受影響的將會是近來大幅提高本地息率、並導致償債成本顯著上升的經濟體,例如南韓,其情況或許值得關注。

若某些經濟體有許多金融機構的受監管資本水平偏低,其相對區內其他市場可能較易受到衝擊;就此而言,印度可能是其中之一。

環球金融狀況收緊,導致需求減弱,亦可能使亞洲出口受壓。我們認為,一些尤其依賴與美國和歐元區進行貿易的經濟體最受影響,包括越南、馬來西亞及台灣。

這對亞洲當地貨幣政策有何影響? 

我們認為,區內的貨幣政策走向可能出現多種情境。

1 一切如常:在過去一年,亞洲央行因應當地通脹走勢制定的貨幣政策,比美國聯儲局這次加息周期的政策力度更大。因此,許多區內央行已轉持溫和立場,例如泰國和越南。然而,菲律賓及印度近日在對抗通脹方面受挫。因此,我們相信印度儲備銀行和菲律賓央行在下一次議息會議傾向進一步加息。

2 銀行業面對衝擊,促使央行調降原先的政策路徑:在這情境下,我們預料印度儲備銀行和菲律賓央行轉趨審慎,可能會較預期提早結束加息周期。

3 金融業壓力加劇,融資成本及美元飆升:若這情況發生,部份區內央行可能被迫進一步加息,以支持其貨幣匯價。對於外匯儲備有限,因而高度依賴外國資金的經濟體來說會構成主要風險。就此,泰國、菲律賓、印度、印尼及馬來西亞日漸受到關注。

投資組合的未變現債券虧損:會否影響亞洲銀行業?

理論上,導致近日一家專注科技業的美國貸款機構倒閉的問題,亦可能會在亞洲銀行業浮現;然而,有可能發生並不意味必然會發生。我們認為這屬未知之數。重要的是,源於這次事件的風險擴散至亞洲銀行業的可能性看來有限:區內銀行資本充裕,受相關事件影響的直接風險輕微。再者,相關銀行的流動性覆蓋率高,而且存款基礎普遍較穩固。另外,值得注意的是,企業存款也高度分散於不同行業。

我們認為,由於與過去的危機時期比較,現時區內經濟體的財政及宏觀穩定性普遍較佳,因此近日的銀行業恐慌直接擴散至亞洲的風險有限。就亞洲區前景而言,更重要的是這次事件對全球增長、美元融資狀況及美元強勢帶來的影響。若環球經濟能避免硬著陸,而且美元融資成本維持低水平(美元匯價持續低於2022年高位),亞洲應能抵禦這次風暴。

 

下載全份文件

 


1. 彭博資訊,截至2023年3月17日。

  • 中港股市最新動態

    儘管市場下跌,但我們認為,香港恒生指數已反映內地2023年第四季的國內生產總值增長趨勢,而且投資者忽略了一些亮點。中國內地的四大主要增長動力(即「4A」)維持不變,去庫存的進展優於預期,加上更多政策措施出台,意味著經濟可望見底。

    閱讀更多
  • 指數納入印度債券:吸引外資並鞏固區內優勢

    印度政府債券被摩根大通納入旗下新興市場政府債券指數的全球指數系列,我們探討此重大決定對印度債市的短期和長期影響。

    閱讀更多
  • 印度獲納入指數將推動當地 邁向下一個增長階段的進程

    印度即將獲納入摩根大通新興市場政府債券指數,我們剖析將如何帶動全球資金流入當地市場。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 輕鬆駕馭波動市 善用平均成本法

    面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動的投資策略 ── 平均成本法。

    閱讀更多
  • 生活要取得平衡,投資組合也一樣!

    均衡的資產配置通常可為投資者帶來更平穩的投資體驗,有助消除投資者在股價下跌時拋售股票的衝動。假如您認為經濟進一步疲軟的時期即將到來,那麼,債券配置在投資組合內的重要性更不容忽視。

    閱讀更多
  • 分散投資 減低風險

    世上沒有免費午餐。但「分散投資」 被視為接近免費的午餐。分散的投資組合能夠優化長線回報,同時降低波幅。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認